The Slatest

He Did It: The Cavaliers Have Won Cleveland’s First Championship in 52 Years

LeBron James blocks Andre Iguodala’s layup in the closing minutes of the fourth quarter in Sunday night’s NBA Finals Game 7 in Oakland.

Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images

The Cleveland Cavaliers have won the NBA championship, winning an incredibly tense Game 7 over the Golden State Warriors by a score of 93–89; the game involved 21 lead changes.* LeBron James—who had a triple-double with 27 points, 11 assists, and 11 rebounds—chased down Andre Iguodala for a spectacular fast-break block with the score tied in the game’s waning minutes; Kyrie Irving hit a stepback 3 with less than a minute left to give the Cavs the lead. League MVP Stephen Curry missed three 3-pointers on the Warriors’ final possessions, one after a display of tremendous one-on-one defense by beleaguered Cavaliers forward Kevin Love. The Warriors did not score for the last 4:39 of game time. Here’s LeBron’s block, which will now be known in Ohio as the Block:

Here’s Irving’s shot (the Shot):

It’s the first major-sport professional title for a Cleveland team in 52 years. The Cavaliers are the first NBA team to win a finals series after trailing 3–1.

POTUS knew what was up:

LeBron did it. He really did it.

After the game:

Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

Go crazy, Cleveland. The Cavaliers are NBA champs.

*Correction, June 19, 2016, 11:35 p.m.: This post originally misstated the number of lead changes as 21 rather than 20.