The Most Fascinating Votes on the Failed NSA Amendment

Raul Labrador is among the ambitious types who voted in favor of the Amash amendment.

Photo by Mark Wilson/Getty Images

The roll call of the Amash amendment vote is up here, and a quick glance reveals a few groups and patterns. Among them:

The Ambitious Types Mostly Voted “Aye.” The House members currently running for Senate or governor, or thinking about it, split their votes. On the “aye” side: New Jersey Rep. Rush Holt (D), Iowa Rep. Bruce Braley (D), Massachusetts Rep. Mike Capuano (D), Louisiana Rep. Bill Cassidy (R), Montana Rep. Steve Daines (R), Georgia Reps. Paul Broun (R) and Jack Kingston (R), Idaho Rep. Raul Labrador (R). On the “no” side: Georgia Rep. Phil Gingrey (R), Arkansas Rep. Tom Cotton (R), and West Virginia Rep. Shelley Moore Capito (R).


The Flippin’ Democrats. In 2005 a substantial number of members voted against Patriot Act renewal. Most were Democrats, and most of them (the ones still around) voted for the Amash amendment. Among the members who voted no in 2005 and no today: Indiana Rep. Pete Viclosky, Illinois Rep. Luis Gutierrez, Florida Reps. Corrine Brown and Debbie Wasserman Schultz, California Reps. Nancy Pelosi, Mike Thompson, and Sue Davis. Oh, and in 2005, Maryland Rep. Chris Van Hollen voted against new Patriot on grounds of concern about section 215.*

The Flippin’ Republicans. I count 17 Republicans who voted for Patriot in 2005 but for Amash now: Spencer Bachus, Joe Barton, Marsha Blackburn, Michael Burgess, Steve Chabot, Scott Garrett, Louie Gohmert, Jack Kingston, Kenny Marchant, Patrick McHenry, Cathy McMorris Rodgers, John Mica, Gary Miller, Tom Petri, Jim Sensebrenner, Joe Wilson.

*Correction, July 25, 2013: David Weigel misstated that Chris Van Hollen objected to Section 214 of the Patriot Act.