Slate Fare

Slate’s Most-Read Stories

The 10 most popular articles of the year.

During 2005, Slate covered the war in Iraq, Hurricane Katrina, and the future of the Supreme Court, but our most popular stories were, for the most part, about dogs, beer, celebrities, and naked ladies. Below you’ll find a list of the 10 pieces that attracted the most readers this year.

Don’t see any of your favorites? Later this week, we’ll publish a list of readers’ top picks; send your vote for the best Slate story of 2005 to bestofslate@gmail.com. (E-mailers may be quoted by name unless they stipulate otherwise.)

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

1) Dog Day Afternoon When summer fashions go bad.
By Amanda Fortini
Posted Wednesday, June 29, 2005

Advertisement

2) When Tush Comes to Dove Real women. Real curves. Really smart ad campaign.
By Seth Stevenson
Posted Monday, Aug. 1, 2005

Advertisement

3) Crazy for You How Michael Jackson got off.
By Emily Bazelon
Posted Monday, June 13, 2005

Advertisement

4) Do Dogs Think? Owners assume their pet’s brain works like their own. That’s a big mistake.
By Jon Katz
Posted Thursday, Oct. 6, 2005

Advertisement
Advertisement

5) Top Dog Why Americans love Labrador retrievers.
By Brendan I. Koerner
Posted Friday, July 8, 2005

Advertisement

6) Kate Moss The ironies of her downfall.
By Amanda Fortini
Updated Tuesday, Sept. 27, 2005

Advertisement
Advertisement

7) The Murder of Emmett Till The 49-year-old story of the crime and how it came to be told.
By Randy Sparkman
Updated Tuesday, June 21, 2005
8) Rachael Ray Why food snobs should quit picking on her.
By Jill Hunter Pellettieri
Posted Wednesday, July 13, 2005

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

9) Welcome to Miller Time, Loser The great American beer crisis.
By Daniel Gross
Posted Monday, May 2, 2005

10) Pity the Poor Prince Charles is atoning for the sins of rich, middle-aged men everywhere.
By June Thomas
Posted Thursday, April 7, 2005

Advertisement