Best College System?

On Sunday, college football’s Bowl Championship Series formula determined that Oklahoma and Louisiana State University will play for the national championship, a controversial decision since in the polls voted on by humans, the University of Southern California is the nation’s No. 1 team. In 2000, Chris Suellentrop proposed an eight-team playoff as a BCS alternative. Following Suellentrop’s system, this year’s playoff combatants would be the six major-conference champions—USC, LSU, Michigan, Miami, Florida State, and Kansas State—and two small-conference teams like Miami (Ohio) and Boise State. Oklahoma, though, would be left out, as they lost in the Big 12 championship game.