The Moment

Alan Furst on A Hero of France and Becoming a Novelist

The master of historical spy fiction talks about a trip to the Soviet Union and how he never fully returned.

the moment podcast.
Alan Furst.

Rainer Hosch

Listen to this episode of The Moment with guest Alan Furst:

Subscribe in iTunes ∙ RSS feed ∙ Download ∙ Play in another tab
Slate Plus
members: Get your ad-free podcast feed.

This week on The Moment, Brian Koppelman is joined by Alan Furst, the best-selling author of Midnight in Europe, Night Soldiers, and Spies of the Balkans. His latest book, A Hero of France, is out now and available by clicking here. Alan discusses how he first came to create his own fictional world in the tradition of William Faulkner and William Kennedy (2:00), the question he asked himself that opened him up as a writer (10:30), and the idea of a certain kind of heroism in his books (24:00). Plus, he talks about why he hasn’t returned to France in years (34:00) and the creative routine he established to become a master of historical spy fiction (44:00).

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

Topics mentioned:

People mentioned:

Twitter: @BrianKoppelman
iTunes: itunes.com/themoment

The Moment is brought to you by Open Account, a podcast that gets personal about making, losing, and living with money. Created by Umpqua Bank and hosted by SuChin Pak, download and subscribe to Open Account wherever you get your podcasts.

And by FreshBooks. Small-business owners, FreshBooks wants to make dealing with your day-to-day paperwork ridiculously simple and quick. For your 30-day free trial, and all the simple and quick cloud accounting you can handle, go to FreshBooks.com/Moment and enter “Moment” in the “how did you hear about us” section.

Podcast production by Jayson De Leon.