Brow Beat

Listen to Andrew Bird and Fiona Apple’s Lovely, Whiskey-Fueled Duet “Left-Handed Kisses”

We’re still a few months away from the release of Andrew Bird’s newest album, Are You Serious, but to tide us over, Bird has shared another track—a collaboration with Fiona Apple. It’s not so much a love song as it is a song about love songs, where Apple plays a romantic counterpoint to Bird’s skepticism.

This isn’t the first time Bird has enlisted the help of a female artist to produce a beautiful duet, but Apple’s voice feels like a particularly fitting complement for Bird’s vocals here. Bird himself described their session as “a long whiskey-fueled night—unhinged, for sure. All worth it, of course.” The full album comes out April 1. The tracklist is below:

  1. “Capsized”
  2. “Roma Fade”
  3.  “Truth Lies Low”
  4.  “Puma”
  5.  “Chemical Switches”
  6. “Left Handed Kisses” (ft. Fiona Apple)
  7. “Are You Serious”
  8. “Saints Preservus”
  9.  “The New Saint Jude”
  10. “Valleys Of The Young”
  11. “Bellevue”