Brow Beat

More Non-Americans Than Americans Won Oscars Last Night

Lupita Nyong’o was one of 24 Oscar winners from last night born and raised outside the U.S.

Photo by Jason Merritt/Getty Images

Did the Oscars seem unusually international to you last night? If so, consider yourself observant: This year, the Academy bestowed more awards on people from outside the U.S. than on Americans. Gravity was the main reason: Mexican director Alfonso Cuarón took home multiple awards, and his largely British collaborators took home a bunch more. In total, there were 18 American winners and 24 non-American winners.

Here’s the full list:


* Steve McQueen, Best Picture, 12 Years a Slave (British)


* Cate Blanchett, Best Actress, Blue Jasmine (Australian)

* Lupita Nyong’o, Best Supporting Actress, 12 Years a Slave (Kenyan/Mexican)

* Emmanuel Lubezki, Best Cinematography, Gravity (Mexican)

* Catherine Martin, Best Costume Design and Best Production Design, The Great Gatsby (Australian)

* Beverley Dunn, Best Production Design, The Great Gatsby (Australian)


* Alfonso Cuarón, Best Director and Best Editing, Gravity (Mexican)

* Mark Sanger, Best Editing, Gravity (British)

* Glenn Freemantle, Best Sound Editing, Gravity (British)

* Niv Adiri, Best Sound Mixing, Gravity (Israeli)

* Steven Price, Best Original Score, Gravity (British)

* Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, David Shirk, and Neil Corbould, Best Visual Effects, Gravity (British)

* Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro, Best Sound Mixing, Gravity (British)

* Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed, Best Documentary Short Subject, The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life (British)


* Paolo Sorrentino, Best Foreign Language Film, The Great Beauty (Italian)

* Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares, Best Animated Short, Mr. Hublot (French and Luxembourgian, respectively)

* Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson, Best Live-Action Short, Helium (Danish)


Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Anthony Katagas, Best Picture, 12 Years a Slave

* Matthew McConaughey, Best Actor, Dallas Buyers Club

* Jared Leto, Best Supporting Actor, Dallas Buyers Club

* Spike Jonze, Best Original Screenplay, Her

* John Ridley, Best Adapted Screenplay, 12 Years a Slave

* Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee, and Peter Del Vecho, Best Animated Feature Film, Frozen

* Morgan Neville, Gil Friesen, and Caitrin Rogers, Best Documentary Feature, 20 Feet from Stardom

* Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez, Best Original Song, “Let it Go” from Frozen

* Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews, Best Makeup and Hairstyling, Dallas Buyers Club

* Skip Lievsay, Best Sound Mixing, Gravity